Self Portrait

November 4, 2011

I’m not as smart as I think I am. And I doubt very much that anyone will disagree. I find peace and structure in believing that things are better than they are. I try to find the best in people, to give them the benefit of the doubt. But, secretly, that’s only so I don’t feel like a hypocrite when I do that for myself as well. The truth is, the scale of my life is so so insignificantly small that, were you to project it as a still image against a wall, it would only be a few shades of the same single color. Yellow. The flag of cowards.

Introspection can only really do so much… After only a little while the world begins to wear your shadow. And then what is left but to ponder yourself? Bathe in your various ignorances and regrets?

Silence is not reflective in this state. It is only the absence of study.

A lonely boy writing a rarely read blog about himself… Clever, isn’t it? If only I could major in Pathetic…

self portrait copy

Leave a Reply

